Great Rewards follow Tough decisions

Recently I attended a session with one of the emerging leaders in Banking Industry. It was more over an informal session wherein, people were allowed to ask all sort of question to the guest and he would share his thoughts based on his experience and knowledge. There were few points which were complete take away for me and would like to share those in my space considering the fact that it might be useful for others.

o-LEADERSHIP-facebook

When asked, what was that one dream that you think you fulfilled in your life.

He replied that, My life experiences have taught me that there are bound to be ups and downs and it is only family and friends that help tide over difficult times. I went through a personal crisis in 2002 and there was doom and gloom everywhere. Instead of maintaining status quo, I decided to give my entrepreneurial drive a “go”. I traded my corporate comfort for setting up a business of 150 people and ran it for 3 years before divesting it to a large IT company. Soup to nuts teaches one a lot and I think I benefited immensely with that experience both in terms of what to do and what not to do. Most importantly I listened to my heart and fulfilled my aspiration of running my own business.

courage (1)

This was something very motivating; with his story he told us that – COURAGE is one trait that all great leaders possess. Without courage it’s difficult to stay on right path, take those difficult decisions, be it a battlefield or that business meeting when it comes to important decisions it always boils down to the courage of the leader. Aristotle called courage the first virtue, because it makes all of the other virtues possible. In addition to being the most important human virtue, it is the most important business virtue, as well. Think about it – Is it possible to take risk, innovation, expansion, and Lead people –in absence of COURAGE?

When asked what keeps you going?

Guest said, Almost everything but most importantly when I can make a positive impact in anyone’s life. It’s the fact that I can make difference with my acts keeps me up and running. So we should all come out of that routine mind set up and think what can we do that will make a difference today.

make-a-difference

Your small difference today can give a new perspective to someone else. Reframe your mind from ‘What I can do’ to ‘How I can do it’ and Make-a-Difference in someone’s life. As  Mahatma Gandhi said, “In a gentle way, you can shake the world.”

He also gave a beautiful career advice for everyone.

My advice would be, build depth in your formative years, develop a skill for which you will be known and then branch out to build breadth. Keep challenging the obvious and enhance your knowledge base. The process of building one’s career is fraught with highs and lows. The key here is not to lose heart in times of adversity and have faith in yourself. Most importantly be a rounded personality, have a sense of humor and do not take yourself too seriously. Be a role model in your life for others to follow.”

Honestly, I loved the last part of it the most, Challenge yourself and believe in your abilities to achieve anything you want. But at the same time enjoy your life, live in the moment and make most out of it. Finally as Michael Jordan said, “Some people want it to happen, some wish it would happen, and others make it happen”, choose which one you would like to associate yourself with.

Leave a Reply

