An open letter to – India

Dear India,

You know how many things I don’t like about you and given a chance how much I crib about it with anyone who is ready to listen. Everyone whom I meet gives me at least two things they don’t like about you and honestly many times I have done my part in giving an extra reason to add in their list. But I am writing this because I need some answers – why I feel so proud every time I hear your name, every time I hear people singing national anthem, why is it that I get this feeling – a feeling of being proud, feeling of patriotism.

Many times I feel like running from you, getting away from this negativity but still when I come back I get peace and love from you. You are not perfect, but who is. I am not perfect but you accepted me with all my faults so why I keep on finding faults in you. You are part of me and I am part of you. So if you are not perfect neither am I nor anyone else. Now it is my turn to accept you as you are, without finding faults and without expecting everything to change drastically for you.

You are my home, part of my identity. Yes, I don’t like many things about you but today when I look back and ask myself this question I found so many reasons to love you, respect you and admire you. How can I hate you when my father spent his entire life serving for you, fighting for you, respecting you, talking about you and everyday getting ready to die for you.

As a child I loved you and now even after so much negativity, so many bad incidents I still love you. I want my kids also to respect you as much as I do and even more because you will be our legacy to them. If you are not perfect today it is because of us and not you. You are my country and I am so proud of you.

Happy Independence day India. I am proud that you are my first identity.

“If there is one place on the face of earth where all the dreams of living men have found a home from the very earliest days when man began the dream of existence, it is India.”

                                            – Romain Rolland, French scholar

Leave a Reply

